Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for Agent Grangerís Elegy




(1) 


MayavanavihariniHarini (Signed )1:
Never seen Bellatrix as the tragic heroine. Until now.Nicely done.

Author's Response:
Thanks.  Glad you enjoyed it.  One could say the eldest daughter took the family values to extremes although one could also say that a sympathetic view of Bellatrix probably lies outside canon.
2016/09/09 - 00:39

mick42 (Signed )1:
A fitting elegy, for a very dark star.

Author's Response:
Thanks.  It tries to match the simple sparseness of a Viking lament.
2016/05/29 - 08:28

nagandsev (Signed )1:
Beautiful narrative and cadence of the prosody--evoking a specific cadence, metrical structure with the lines of verse, a chivalric saga to be wailed out by Hermione--provoking in a somber/poignant way a glimpse into a time no more, when Bellatrix turned and chose/was led down a path of no return--lovely, lovely work!

Author's Response:
Thanks.  A tragedy of the eldest, and possibly most capable sibling, supporting the family tradition to excess.
2015/12/23 - 07:18

severina (Signed )1:
I enjoyed reading this. The poem, as well as your description of the albums, was very poignant. Thanks for posting!

Author's Response:

Thanks.  Bad girls are more fun.
2011/07/27 - 22:48

HermioneWeasley1972 (Signed )1:
I have tears in my eyes.  Great job!

Author's Response:

Thanks.  The intent was a stark and plain-told tragedy.
2011/07/16 - 22:07

Rose of the West (Signed )1:
Hermione was uniquely qualified to make that visit, since she took the polyjuice.  I like the way you stress the warrior lineage that came into play in this family's life.

Author's Response:

Thanks.  The warrior images and verses were added to prepare the audience since an early reader of the first version thought Granger's paean appeared too abruptly. 

Rose of the West's response: I think they're appropriate, and they add to the pathos of the whole Black family situation.  Once so grand and now... nothing.
2011/07/16 - 22:05

karelia (Signed )1:
I like it! Very unusual angle!

Author's Response:

Thanks.  There's a viking saying that a tale told by one person is only half told.
2011/07/16 - 21:57

debjunk (Signed )1:
Potent magic that was.  I do like that her elegy acknowledged that she had good in her at some point.

Author's Response:

Thanks.  The paean tries to look under the surface.
2011/07/16 - 21:43

(1) 

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.