Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for Tainted Blood




(1) 


I5bXCKR2 (Anonymous )1: Chapter 1
- He is a cute kid isnt he? - Thank you we love taking pics of kids and he was so psealant!!! - Oh dont worry Jayden will have fun on Christmas! Slideshow I am sure will follow.:wave: - We really enjoyed our time with him .thanks!

Author's Response: CHILD ABUSE ALERT!!! THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED TO THE HEADMISTRESS!
2015/12/13 - 09:03

sweetlysevere (Signed )1: Chapter 1
I have just finished reading Tainted Blood on my Kindle. It's a really enjoyable read. It keeps you interested throughout wanting to know more about the main characters and their life together if there will be a together. It's not just your typicaL romance but a really well woven tale.

Author's Response: Hi, there!
Thank you so much for leaving the review! It means a lot to me not only because Tainted Blood is my first published novel, but also because there is naturally much less contact to my readers in the real world compared with fandom.

In case you are interested - the sequel, Tainted Soul, is in the caring hands of kittylefish right now. I hope to submit it in March, and I will definitely post the first chapter here should my publisher accept the manuscript.
Again, thanks!

sweetlysevere's response: Aha, a sequel. Thank goodness for that! I really grew to like the characters and wondered how their lives would continue to grow.
Hoping the sweet tree-girl (whose name escapes me right now) comes back to life. What a super way to return again!
2011/02/19 - 21:52

Fred Bear (Anonymous )1: Chapter 1
I like it, hope I'll get to read more...

The plot is not as straightforward as in many books where you know the next chapter before you read it. I also like the fantasy comonent and the way I can actually feel what the main character is feeling. This is the kind of book that I sit down with for a quick read and end up going to bed a three am after inhaling about three hundred pages of it. Plus the style is slightly unothodox, so there will be more surprises along the way.

Look forward to reading the rest...

Fred

Author's Response: Dear Fred,

many thanks for your review. It means a lot to me, especially your comments on the characters and that you consider the beginning as surprising and unorthodox. Just what I was heading for.

sam
2010/08/09 - 13:59

shellsnapeluver (Signed )1: Chapter 1
OMG!!!
I didn't realize there was going to be supernatural beings in this! I'm so excited to read more! I know it has mystery and I love mystery, but a shapeshifter! And whatever the dude with icy blue is... !!!

I enjoy the humour that you have laced throughout the chapter so far, for there IS some humour, although probably dry and dark, but I like it.

I have to say, this is very well written. Normally, I could sense your voice in your HP fics,  it's something that is just you, but this... this is very different. You are very detailed, and it paints a lovely picture in my mind. I can really visualize Gabe. Well done! No wonder you got published! This is proving to be an interesting story and can't wait to finish this!


Author's Response: Hi, hon!

So glad to see you here! And so glad you liked this first part of the first chapter!

Yep. the humour is darker than in my HP fics, though as you know, I wrote some pretty dark one-shots during my time in fandom. If you continue reading, you will find some familiar scenes, I believe ;-)

Hugs, hon, and let me know what you think of Gabe once you know what binds him to the guy with the icy-blue eyes!
2010/07/11 - 01:19

isalie (Signed )1: Chapter 1
Hi. I'm writing this more as a general review, since I already own a copy (thanks to kittylefish's constant advertising) and am reading it currently.
It's one of those stories where you want to prolong the reading, just to prolong the experience of basking in the feelings that the story causes in the reader. The tension is palpable, almost concrete. And I'm halfway through (technically more) and it could still go in every direction.
Now that I finally have an idea of what's going on, I still have no clue how this is going to end.
Brilliant.
Seldom have I read such a beautiful story, that never gives me enough rest to wonder about the world they live in. And I'm usually such a bad sci-fi reader, because I keep complaining about the surroundings and how that is supposed to fit into our world. Somehow I don't even care here.
The characters are believable and brilliant - and act reasonable in situations where fanfiction has made us believe the unusual, unreasonable is the common thing to do (I could say what exactly I have in mind right now, but it would spoil the fun for other readers).
And - omg - I frikkin love Tennant.

Author's Response: Hi, isalie!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - it sends shivers down my spine although I've read (or rather, devoured) it several times by now.
I wrote Tainted Blood because the book that has inspired me had a lot of sex scenes and not really that much story/plot. Also, the characters, though very beautiful and lovely, seemed a bit flat to me. So in this light, your review means even more to me, as you tell me that I managed to avoid what has bothered me with this other book.
And you need to let me know about the "unusual, unreasonable", and never mind the spoiling part ;-)

Today, whilst on my way to work on my bike, I finally began thinking about the sequel. Next to me is a sheet of paper with Gabe's family tree. I hope I will manage to finish the sequel this year. And yes, Tennant will play a major part.

Lots of love and thanks for reviewing,
sam

P.S. And thanks for getting a copy! Got to hug kitty one of these days!
2010/07/07 - 05:24

Smoggy (Signed )1: Chapter 1
Great read and very descriptive. Nice also not to have to encounter werewolves and other bloody, scary bits!

Has an air of making an intruiging crime story.

Well done again and especially well done on the way you tend to the short but well-detailed descriptive sentences without going "Over The Top".

Author's Response: *bounce, bouncy-di-bounce, di-bi-bop-bouncy-wouncy bouncity-wouncity-wooo!*

:-)

Thanks so much for reviewing, dear!
2010/06/22 - 06:07

HBAR (Signed )1: Chapter 1
Hey, congrats to you!  I am so glad to see this posted here.  I don't frequently venture down into the original fic section, but when I see a famaliar name that I know will have a great story, I dive right in. 

Just from this beginning bit of story, I am very intrigued.  I am very interested to learn more about the doctor.  I hope he can either do some magic, or has a credit card; that boy needs some food and clothing :)  They probably don't need to replace the camera.  I suspect where ever they are going, he will no longer need it.

Yay for you, you've definitely got me wanting to read more!

Author's Response: Glad you read an original fic, or part of it, at least. I know what you mean - I don't read original fics here often myself.
The doctor is of course one of the main characters here. My betas fell in love with him, but I warn you, there is more to him than you can see at first sight. And he lies.
Food and clothing (after a substantial shower) are on the way ;-)

Hugs and thanks so much for reviewing!
2010/06/18 - 21:02

EdgeOfDark (Signed )1: Chapter 1

Sweet! What a wondeful chapter. You had me instantly!

This really looks promising! I'm glad it's not another one of those tired tweeny-porn Vampire/Werewolf reads. Those are becoming so trite.

Author's Response: No tweeny-porn, but Gabe is partly werewolf. I hereby confess I did it because I am a Lupin fan ;-) And there is also a vampire in the story, but he is not nice, not good-looking, and he will die pretty soon...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!
2010/06/18 - 17:43

TeaNBooks (Signed )1: Chapter 1
oooooo... what a great beginning!! Just a few paragraphs & you've already got me interested in these characters!!  I like the premise of the "hidden world" - known, but separate, for their own safety.

Looks like I may have to invest in a new book. :D  Congratulations on being published!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading this one as well, and for reviewing, of course. The hidden worlds play a major role in this book, and of course Gabe as well as Tennant ;-)
2010/06/18 - 12:58

kittylefish (Signed )1: Chapter 1
hee!  so exciting to see this here!  :D  no need to enter me in the raffle, as i'm already the happy owner of a (okay, maybe two) copy(ies) of your novel.  :D  *twirls you*  *hugs*

Author's Response: Hi, hon, and many thanks for reviewing. Promise, you'll be amongst the first who will see the sequel ;-)
*hugs you back*
2010/06/18 - 01:04

quaffswinegaily (Signed )1: Chapter 1
What an interesting start. This Tennant character sounds intriguing. I'm still trying to figure out what he is.
Unfortunately neither of your links at the start of your story worked for me. I will have to wait to see the book for the art work.

Author's Response: Sorry the links don't work! The book has been published by Dreamspinnerpress:
www.dreamspinnerpress.com
If you type in my name - Sam C. Leonhard - or the title - Tainted Blood - you should find it.

Thanks for reviewing! I'll let you know in about a week if you won one of the PDF copies.
2010/06/16 - 20:22

Melenka (Signed )1: Chapter 1
There's a lot going on in this chapter, and I'm intrigued.  I like that the supernatural community is concerned for its safety and also that they don't know that much about each other - or at least Gabriel doesn't.  Your descriptions are quite rich, and I like the way we find out little bits about Gabriel's past as the chapter progresses.

Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response: There isn't really a supernatural community - there are just other races, and the occasional child with mixed blood. Background will be explained in further chapters, which I cannot post here, sadly enough. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I think by the end of next week, I will let the winners of the PDF copy know and ask for mailadresses.
2010/06/16 - 08:41

sunny33 (Signed )1: Chapter 1
Intriguing start.  Who is Tennant, or should I say, what is he?

Author's Response: He's definitely a who and not a what ;-)
Thanks so much for reviewing!
2010/06/15 - 06:45

(1) 

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.