Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for 4'33''




(1) 2 [Next]  LAST


beQBUSKKgL (Anonymous )1: Oneshot
. . .. . . that I belong in Ravenclaw!Said Ravenclaw, “We’ll teach those whose innelligetce is surest.” scored me:95% Ravenclaw,88% Hufflepuff,69% Gryffindor,49% Slytherin. More MMADfanHP Fanfic ResourcesWordPress BlogrollSearch this SiteSearch for:Email Subscription to MMADfan's BlogEnter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. (Or, for WordPress.com users, log in to WordPress and refresh this page.)Join 28 other followersFeeds Recent PostsRecent Comments on on on Dianne on on on Our Mirror of ErisedFor lovers of AU HP fanfic and rare pairs.Where I archive my downloadable fics of all ratings.All friendly adult fans of AU HP fanfic and uncommon noncanon 'ships welcome!
2015/12/13 - 07:46

Pieredaes Muse (Signed )1: Oneshot
I saw the title and was pleasantly surprised--I just finished up my third quarter of Music History where we learned about the piece. What a wonderful way to answer the prompt! I can believe Severus would appreciate an audience's reaction especially. Did you know that 4'33'' is actually based on the original performance's length and that, paradoxically, it is supposed to be a duration of any time? Anyway, I really enjoyed finding and reading this!

Author's Response: Huh, I don't think I knew that!  I'm glad you liked this.  Thanks so much for leaving a review.  :D
2012/06/14 - 23:47

ofankoma (Signed )1: Oneshot
I saw the title of this and burst out laughing. 4'33"? Oh, of course... I particularly enjoy that you've passed it off to a bassoon; Snape's notes on the subtle nuances of the instrument are hilarious. (I hope you've heard Garrison Keillor's Young Lutheran's Guide to the Orchestra, in which he explains that no one can play the bassoon as a serious profession because it sounds like a hobby. 'What did you did you do this weekend?' 'Oh, the missus and I went bassooning.')

I could also see him going for a little George Crumb... Vox balaenae, perhaps?

Author's Response: Rofl,  Yep, I wanted to go bassooning this weekend, but I was just too busy singing.  Thank you so much!  I'm glad you enjoyed this.  I think Severus really would enjoy Crumb among others. 
2011/08/20 - 09:16

tenoh27 (Signed )1: Oneshot
Sublime, thank you! :)

Author's Response: ROFL.  Thank you so much!
2011/06/23 - 09:24

kimjo2 (Signed )1: Oneshot
ah-ha!  so that's what you like!  and do you like hinmith (not sure of the spelling), too?  that kind of stuff is like modern art and even sister wendy couldn't help me understand it..  great ficlet, tho, my deb as always.  mega mucho smoochies

Author's Response: LOL, I totally understand.  Actually, 20th century isn't my favorite era.  I do like some Hindemeth.  I actually love the Romantic period, with Tchaikovsky and Rossini.  I do like Beethoven and Bach, too.  I guess I like something from every classical period!  This piece, however, is totally fascinating to me. 
2010/04/16 - 19:40

EdgeOfDark (Signed )1: Oneshot
Wow...

At first it made me feel like I was reading a Government Manual on How to Use a Screwdriver: Apply the Hand Operated Torque Application Device to the properly slotted Torsional Rotational Receiver...

But it was a fun read in the end!

Nice!

Author's Response: LOL!!  Beiieve it or not that would be a really exciting conversation for musicians.  :)  I'm glad you liked it, despite the technical jargon at the beginning.
2010/04/02 - 18:08

WriterMerrin (Signed )1: Oneshot
Thank you for including the link that rectified the gap in my musical education.  I'm rather sure I'd read about it before, but the video was fascinating.  Your Severus is quite charming, whether he knows it or not.

Author's Response: Thanks, Merrin!  It'a a very different sort of piece, isn't it?  I'm glad you enjoyed this.
2010/03/31 - 05:35

bunny_wigglesworth (Signed )1: Oneshot
I followed your link because just the idea of a full orchastra play four minutes and thirty-three seconds of silence intriged me to no end  I found the piano virsion from1 952 equally inspired.  Your drabble was inspired as well I truly enjoyed it.  Thanks for sharing

-bw  

Author's Response: I really think that the 'sublte nuances' between different instruments really shine each time this piece is performed.  Glad you enjoyed both the fic and the link.
2010/03/30 - 18:56

luminosa (Anonymous )1: Oneshot
Interesting choice, great litle story.  Thanks!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!
2010/03/29 - 10:53

Javoher (Signed )1: Oneshot
I've heard this piece done two or three times now, and as Severus says it's very subtle.  The tension can resolve in so many ways.  Nice parallel with the kiss between Hermione and Severus resolving tension at the end.  Excellent little drabble!

Author's Response: I've never been lucky enough to see a live version, although the link I put into the story was quite entertaining.  I can only imagine what it would be like in a live hall.  I'm sure a lot was missed by the mic.  I'm glad you enjoyed this. 

Javoher's response: Yeah, the hall you perform in is one of the most important elements.  Typically mikes can't pick up that much of the hall - you'd need a hundred, and an excellent mixer.  Looking forward to your drabble!
2010/03/28 - 23:58

maria (Signed )1: Oneshot
Marvelous!  That was an awesome surprise :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! 
2010/03/28 - 14:50

karelia (Signed )1: Oneshot
*loves*

Naturally, he'd be partial to that particular piece!

Author's Response: Of course he would!  I can see him listening to it for hours in his room.  ~hugs!
2010/03/28 - 14:02

janus (Signed )1: Oneshot
Oh, that is lovely!  So subtle and sly, so profound and musical.  How very Slytherin Snape is!

Author's Response: Tee-hee.  Thanks, janus!  I'm glad you liked it. 
2010/03/28 - 13:43

lillis1785 (Signed )1: Oneshot
This was a great little one-shot. As soon as I saw the title, I knew which song we were speaking of and it just seemed to fit that Snape would like 4'33. :)

Author's Response: It does seem fitting that he would love such a piece.  And for more reasons than one would immediately think also.
2010/03/28 - 12:38

blue artemis (Signed )1: Oneshot
That was fun.  I like the idea of Severus surprising Hermione with music, or quiet as it were.

Author's Response: LOL, a little of both, actually.  He likes broadining her horizons.
2010/03/28 - 12:02

(1) 2 [Next]  LAST

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.