Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for A New Heirloom




(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»


nagandsev (Signed )1: ~
I'm in shock - complete, utter wonderful shock - so lovely and unexpected; the depiction of Lucius having experienced some form of redemption is one whammy, but to see him be capable of selflessly, and wishing to bestow love as the greatest thing he could, on poor Draco and have his grandson know and carry love in his heart & soul - really breathtaking, profound and beautiful work! Ok, I'm blubbering in my morning coffee, and must stop, but will catch up on more in between hectic RL nonsense. Thank you for depicting the vulnerable, redemptive side of these personas!

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so very much! I have no doubt that everyone has the potential to redeem themselves, no matter what their past is. :)
2011/08/18 - 02:32

blue artemis (Signed )1: ~
That was lovely.
2010/08/12 - 15:05

MakalaniAstral (Signed )1: ~
unexpected but well done.  you would think that his wife and son would have noticed how he was suddenly helping others...but i guess being the slytherin maybe not.  i love draco's response.

Author's Response: I do believe Slytherins have ways of hiding... ;)

Thanks for reviewing!
2009/11/23 - 02:02

oohdear (Signed )1: ~
beautiful, simply love in all its majesty

Author's Response: :D Thank you! <3
2009/11/18 - 22:31

KingPhilipsWench (Signed )1: ~
A Malfoy who understands love would be more powerful than Dumbledore - wouldn't he?  Being as Dumbledore knew it was powerful but never actually understood what love was.  And it is a fairly amazing power, for something that seems so weak and yet isn't.  Very uplifting story.


Author's Response: Yes, he would, absolutely.

It only ever seems weak; it never is. In fact, I'll say it's the strongest power anyone can have.

Wow, you really are being thoughtful tonight! Thank you! <3
2009/11/14 - 16:13

Bettina (Signed )1: ~
This is undoubtedly a power a Malfoy could benefit from.

Me too, so where do I find Vladimir?

I'm only a little disturbed as to what Scorpius might think when reading this. Would he not  fear for his father's sanity or health?

Author's Response: Thank you!

I've no idea where exactly to find Vladimir. Possibly the Russian Taiga.

About Scorpius, I'd like to think he understands perfectly. He is, after all, a wizard, and maybe a bit less prejudiced than his parents or grandparents.

Bettina's response: You do depict the Malfoys as more human than JKR did, but I would definitely have been very worried had I received such a missive from anyone I care for! But since none from my family has met Vladimir to get this bark, they never did.
2009/04/25 - 12:00

HermioneWeasley1972 (Signed )1: ~
This was beautiful and made me cry. Well done!

Author's Response: It made me cry while I wrote it. LOL

Thank you for reviewing! *pats the shinies*
2009/03/15 - 22:26

snitchette (Signed )1: ~
It's sad Lucius didn't manage to tell this to his son in person. Brilliant use of the prompt.

Author's Response: Thank you!

I agree that it's sad. And it's not my normal kind of plot either, but alas, it had to be written... :)
2009/03/04 - 02:05

apisa_b (Signed )1: ~
Making amends with the Weasley family is carrying the whole thing a bit too far for a Malfoy, don't you think?

I like the idea of Lucius being influenced by a wise Muggle, though.

Author's Response: LOL He has to start somewhere, so it might as well be with the Weasleys. I can see it, especially as this is about 20 years after DH.

Thanks for reviewing! *pats the shiny stars*
2009/03/03 - 15:39

kizzy7 (Signed )1: ~
Oh, that was lovely. A truly perfect gift indeed.

Author's Response: The Malfoys need as much love as they can get, no? :)

Thanks for your kind words and the stars.
2009/03/02 - 07:48

KellyH (Signed )1: ~
I read this last night before I went to bed and I didn't leave a review because who knew what I would have wrote that late at night.  Anyways, I ended up having a dream about this story (I guess I took in more than I thought).

In my dream Lucius was standing next to the tree and in this dream he had three sons standing behind him.  Lucius took a piece of the tree which turned into a glowing pendant.  He past it on to the oldest son. The glow dimmed and then the oldest pastit was past to the middle son.  The glow dimmed again and the middle son past it onto the youngest son.  The glow dimmed yet again.

When I woke up I thought about it and came to the conclusion that if Lucius had past it on to Draco would the magic be that effective?  Lucius had to take a journey and discover this himself where his son and grandchildren did not. 

Author's Response: In a way, that dream makes perfect sense to me! Yes, Lucius was the one who had to take the journey to discover it because he'd carried a lot of accumulated evil baggage, whereas Draco (and probably any other offspring) had nowhere nearly collected as much evil, and mostly because of Lucius's influence.

Thank you for sharing that!
2009/03/01 - 19:50

HermioneJeanSnape (Signed )1: ~
This is... odd. Interesting but peculiar. I still suspect foul play; is the ring poisoned?

Author's Response: No, no poison was involved. When a whole human is ready to leave this plane, he usually does. And Lucius was simply ready. :)
2009/03/01 - 16:04

HogwartsHoney (Signed )1: ~
*IS IN TEARS*

Loved the image of a glowing cedar tree.... and how profoundly Lucius was affected by it.
Also, adored Draco's reaction to the letter, and the fact that he used his 'best quill' to pen the note to Scorpius.



Author's Response: Thank you! I didn't mean to make you cry, although I cried some myself when I wrote it. LOL
2009/03/01 - 11:56

irishredlass (Signed )1: ~
Oh how I would love to get a piece of that!  What a wonderful gift to bestow on a Malfoy... you are always trying to redeem him.

Author's Response: And here I thought I succeeded in redeeming him. LOL

Thank you for your kind words!
2009/03/01 - 06:39

morgaine_dulac (Signed )1: ~
How dare you kill Lucius?!
But then again, if he hadn't died, you wouldn't have been able to write this lovely piece. So ... thanks!

Author's Response: *grins* Lucius wasn't all that pleased with me either. But he did see the point, so it's all right. :)

Thank you for your kind words!
2009/03/01 - 02:41

(1) 2 [Next]  LAST»»

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.