Home | Newly Submitted | Random Story | Search
Categories | Titles | Members | Forum Boards | Log In


Reviews for A Mother's Promise




(1) 


loreen77 (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
A mothers love is a very powerful thing. Well written.

Author's Response: Thank you.
2017/06/23 - 06:15

MayavanavihariniHarini (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
Allow me to confess this. This was one of the VERY rare occasions where I actually felt bad for Lily. For most of us diehard Snape fans like me, the very mention of Lily makes us go "Grrrrr!"

Author's Response: Don't get me started on Lily. She was a lousy friend, but I would like to believe that she was a good mother. I mean, she did protect her son.
2016/12/06 - 20:13

MrsAstoriaMalfoy (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise

Very cute scene!



Author's Response: Thank you, Mrs Malfoy. First - and probably the last - time I ever felt for Lily.
2011/02/07 - 00:44

Tova (Anonymous )1: A Mother's Promise
Good! Just as I imagine that it all started.

Author's Response: Glad I am not completely loony ;-)
2009/09/14 - 08:16

Lady Whitehart (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
This was beautiful. A little sad but still very beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

/M
2009/03/16 - 15:49

Memory (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
S0 immensely sad. You have caught one of the worst fears of a mother's heart. And what is even tougher to accept, this time her fear became true.

I  know you don't have a deep simpathy for Lily, but I'm sure that she was a good mother. Thank you for sharing this little piece. Lots of love.

Author's Response: Yes, I am sure that Lily has been a very good mother. She did die for her child, didn't she?

And I only dislike Lily because she let Severus fall when he needed her the most. Oups, going there again, haha!
2009/01/05 - 07:54

apisa_b (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
You have captured the scene perfectly. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

/M
2009/01/01 - 06:43

lyn_f (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
What a beautiful story!  I found Carola singing "Himlen i min famn" on YouTube, and that is indeed a beautiful song.  Your story is a wonderful companion piece to it.  Brava.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I am glad you liked it.

Cheers. /M
2008/12/27 - 11:04

snitchette (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
I don't think I have ever read these few moments before. A peaceful moment yet there is some warning in the air. I'm touched by your words.

Author's Response: Thank you, dearest.

Happy Holidays.
/M
2008/12/23 - 15:20

Alcina vom Steinsberg (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
A wonderful small tale, and so very sad...

Author's Response: Glad you liked it.

Frohe Weihnachten
/M
2008/12/23 - 13:29

HermioneJeanSnape (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
Ohhhhh. A mother's love is something to treasure indeed. And so powerful... poor Lily. A beautifully sad piece.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it.

Happy Holidays. /M
2008/12/23 - 08:10

sweetflag (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
Lovely story.  I can relate to the 'heaven in my arms'; I felt it when after a very difficult birth, I was able to hold my first child... I can't really explain how I felt, but holding heaven in my arms is as good as any description.

The rather brusque and matter-of-fact ending is such a harsh contrast to the delicate and sweet musings and sentiments that preceded it... snatched my breath.  It was like the ultimate slap in the face for expectations and hope with reality the victor.

I have noticed that you have other stories recently added/uploaded; I will get to them.

Merry Christmas x x

Author's Response: The ending did come very abrupt for James and Lily, too. I think they truly believed that they were safe. And when the door was blasted open, neither of them stood a chance. James did not even have his wand.

I am very glad I managed to get the emotions across, especially since I have no idea how it feels to hold a baby in my arms.

Wishing you very happy holidays, sweetflag. 'See' you next year.

/M
2008/12/23 - 03:01

debjunk (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
So much hope dashed in such an evil act.  Thanks for the peek into their life before the end.

Author's Response: And thank you for reading it and leaving a note.

I hope you'll enjoy the holidays. 'See' you next year. /M

debjunk's response: You too, hon. 
2008/12/23 - 00:50

beaweasley2 (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
Oh, how deeply touching - and yet so sad. A mother's love captured so well.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I am glad I managed to get the message across.

Happy Holidays. /M
2008/12/22 - 23:49

rhiannon113 (Signed )1: A Mother's Promise
Very beautiful, and so touching. Lily was the first character I identified with, as I was pregnant with my first child while reading PS for the first time.

This is wonderfully touching. Though, I would like to know how the song title translates (no Swedish here, I'm afarid). 

Happy Christmas!

Author's Response: I am very glad I managed to capture the mood, never having had a baby myself.

'Himlen i min famn' basically means 'Heaven In My Arms'. The song is about Mary holding her newborn baby in her arms, contemplating his fate: is her little baby boy the world has been waiting for, the one who will save them all?

It is quite a touching song. And that is saying somthing coming from me. I am not a Christian and I am not too fond of babies ;-)

Once again, I am glad you liked my little piece about Lily. It doesn't happen too often that I see her in a positive light.

Happy Holidays! /M
2008/12/22 - 20:35

(1) 

Please Leave a Review


Screenreader Users and Text-Based Browsers, Click Here to Leave a Review



Writers' Resource | Beta Directory | Submission Rules | Links & Affiliations | Help
Terms of Use | Disclaimer | About Us | Support TPP

Click to join thepetulantpoetess Chatzy Group TPP LJ Community

The Patronus skin was created especially for The Petulant Poetess by TarahFae.